Poets logo

On Clouds and Rainbows

Prisms and Prisons

By Robert TrakoflerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Photograph by author

I had, rainbows on my wall

when I was a boy

I always looked at clouds

trouble was

I was always looking at clouds

I often, didn’t see

the things that weren’t rainbows…

But they, did see me

Perhaps it was malice

or just jealousy

But soon my rainbows

turned monochrome

and I and the clouds

got lost in the obscurity

Of sorrows wake

And cast in the conformity

Of capitulation

That boy became a man

that could, no longer see

For many a year;

he spoke, without a voice

walked without choice

and lived without rejoice

till he no longer

seemed to be

And then one day

one very fine day

someone whispered

I see a rainbow in you

and slowly

he too, began to see

And those clouds

revealed themselves

and with his pen…

so did he

and all of the colors

from all of his rainbows

flowed from his hand

And that boy

became the man

he had always wished

to be

© 2021 Robert Trakofler

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Robert TrakoflerWritten by Robert Trakofler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.