Poets logo

Old Thorns

"I didn't want to pick any flowers"

By KBPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Old Thorns
Photo by Colin Maynard on Unsplash

Every year on the first Saturday in May,

We would roll around the garden

Picking the freshest flowers

From the archway.

*

We would bring them inside to sit in a vase,

And put them atop the table

Where we laid our palms upward

Ready to say grace.

*

The salty air had combined with lilac and rose,

And we looked at each other

Through the petals

Hoping that no one knows.

*

The next year on the first Saturday in May,

I didn’t want to pick any flowers

I simply wanted to

Sit at the window watching the bay.

*

My wanting wasn’t so simple,

I didn’t want to pick any flowers

Because later across the table

I would see no dimples.

*

I didn’t want to pick any flowers

Because the next day,

They would die anyway

And so would all its power.

*

Last year on the first Saturday in May,

I received a letter from

Your mother saying

She hopes everything is okay.

*

I picked flowers that year

Because you still liked them

Even if it meant the gardens

Would soon be all clear.

*

Today is the first Saturday in May,

And I have just started

To pick the lilacs and roses

And make another bouquet.

*

I have learned to love something

When it is too beautiful not to

Even when it may be gone too soon

Even when the mark will very well sting.

*

Because I learned this,

I went to the florist each week

And found something that

I could have missed.

*

Someone standing beside me,

Trimming the thorns from the roses

Unknowingly surprised when

They got on one knee.

*

So next year, on the first Saturday of May,

I will stand under a new archway

Putting all the glorious flowers

On display.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

KB

A snippet of life. Some real, some not. Thanks for reading!

https://vocal.media/vocal-plus?via=kb

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Love this poem, great job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.