Poets logo

Old Soul; Young Woman

By PoeticQueen

By PoeticQueenPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I am a star that shines through space,

but does not know which space to fit in.

I am an old soul, but in a young woman’s body.

I sing melodies of Nina Simone with a hint of Beyoncé harmonies.

I am the child of

box braids and afros,

sopranos and altos,

soul and gospels,

melanin and poetry,

melodies and harmonies.

I am a canvas.

A canvas painted by the Painter who painted all canvases.

I come from Job and his loyalty,

music and poetry,

Ella and Louis,

cuz Lord knows that I am an old soul in a young woman’s body.

My hair so healthy.

Hair so curly,

curls so juicy,

my hair is royalty.

My body curved like an hourglass.

People stare but I don’t give a damn,

cuz I’ve learned to love myself for who I am.

I am a creative, creatively using my creativity to create creative creations.

To write fire poems,

I follow the flame like how Zuko followed Aang.

I’ve been bending my poems like the Avatar.

Combining all elements needed to write poems

that not only help me, but help those from afar.

I’m not just a poet,

I am a poem!

A poem written by the Poet who wrote me into a piece purposefully.

I come from writing poetry and performing.

Phyllis Wheatley and Toni Morrison.

Maya Angelou and Amanda Gorman.

I come from writing songs. My voice symbolic!

Nat King Cole and Silk Sonic.

I write songs while in my silk bonnet.

I come from Jazz and R&B.

Ray Charles and Yodael G.

My confidence has returned.

She said “Feels good to be back”.

I said “stop messin’ around”,

but she came back and she here to stay.

And I have to say

that loving myself is one of the hardest yet one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever done.

I am a chorus.

I come from church hymns sung so powerful, the first few lyrics will have you in tears.

I am a child of God.

Created perfectly by the Creator who is the Creator of all!

I am a star who shines through space,

and brightens up every single space she fits in.

I am....

I am an old soul in a young woman’s body.

I embrace it proudly.

Remember that from now up until my demise, I love who I am and who I’m becoming, and none of y’all can tell me otherwise.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

PoeticQueen

I’m a creative creatively using my creativity to create creative creations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.