Poets logo

Old Patterns

Recognizing old patterns and questioning my world through rhyme

By Dovile MiliauskaitePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Old Patterns
Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

Written on July 11th, 2016, revised on February 11th, 2022

-

This familiar feeling is lingering around

Should I trust it or should I let it drown?

It is too hard for me to think what could be...

My mind is louder - anxiety does not let me be ME!

It seems so easy to fall back into old patters,

If my breath was taken away while I sleep,

Would it really matter?

All these questions are surrounding my mind,

I cannot tell what is real

And what is pulling me back...

New feelings that I haven't had in years

How do I enjoy them without any pain and tears?

Am I going to feel like this for the rest of my life?

Something has to change while there is still some time...

As I sat down to write in my journal, confused about my feelings, old patterns emerged and I was aware enough to write about it but unsure of what to do.

6 years later, I still notice parts of this poem in me, but I have grown a whole lot and have become more aware of my feelings. This is my journey and no journey is easy, so I must go on and learn from my past.

Thank you for taking time to read my poem; if you've connected with the conveyed message, follow the link to check out my latest work: https://vocal.media/poets/inspired-db17hj0ccd

I sincerely appreciate any support and welcome my reader's thoughts & suggestions. I hope I left an impression however big or small - see you in the next story! :)

sad poetry
2

About the Creator

Dovile Miliauskaite

I have found writing extremely therapeutic & when I write, it sometimes comes out in rhyme.

My goal is to explore my creative side; once ideas flush my mind, I pledge to write and share them with the world. :)

Email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.