Poets logo

Old Papers

What will be will be

By Toni CrowePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Image by _Alicja_ from Pixabay

I found some old papers

My hopes and dreams as a child

Scribbles and pictures and writing

I wanted to be a fireman or a cowboy

A girl fireman or a girl cowboy

My uncle said, “No.”

Girls must be nurses or teachers or secretaries

Girls should not do boys jobs

Boys can be anything including nurses, or teachers, or secretaries

Draw pictures of what you can be

I drew pictures of what I did not want

Uncle smiled at me

I am not a fireman or a cowboy

I tore those old papers up

Threw them in the garbage where they belonged

Even back then

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Toni Crowe

Scarcastic executive. Passionate writer. Very opinionated. Dislikes unfairness. Writing whatever I want about whatever I want.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.