Poets logo

Okay, But What if the Earth Was Flat?

By Jacob ShermanPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Okay, But What if the Earth Was Flat?
Photo by Ruslan Bardash on Unsplash

Spheres adhere to certain guidelines,

but I could not abide within mine own.

The perfect vision never lasts.

*

Action, time, the hard decisions

blur the picture, head-on collision

wrecks, rebuilds, it happens both slow and fast.

*

I, I'm sitting at the edge of the world.

But I can't see it through the eyes of the girl

who hangs her feet above the stars

as they are born,

for when they die, I just can't help but look away.

*

Spheroid, steroids, bull injections

couldn't make it into what the

other 3-D shapes think it should be.

*

But I think form is work in progress.

I also think that I should talk less.

Maybe make a change, see what you see.

*

See, I, I'm sitting at the edge of the world.

And I want to see it through the eyes of the girl

who hangs her feet above the stars

as they are born,

and when they die, I'll force myself to watch, to stay.

*

At her sides, the tide is coming in.

It guides her to the place where life begins

and goes to end.

*

She, she's living at the edge of the Earth.

And she, she wonders what it's like to feel the worth

of words the world produces,

whether it's loving rhymes or lame excuses.

What's the meaning of a promise

if it can't light up the darkness?

*

Well, I, I'm sitting at the edge of the world

right next to you.

performance poetrylove poems
1

About the Creator

Jacob Sherman

The desire to read, and perhaps to write, should be cultivated and nurtured with care throughout every stage of life. For my part I will inject what strangeness and truth that I can into our written history. Expect no constants but honesty.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.