Poets logo

Oilfields of Fire

An apocalyptic plain

By SynneR De'Viant KhrystianPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
Oilfields of Fire
Photo by Jefferson Sees on Unsplash

Stranger things calls it The UpsideDown.

It is called many a things;

Sandman Land, a bright golden brand of sand.

Ethereal dimensions, buzzings.

Frequencies falling on feeble souls, feeding the fire.

This spectrum of life; experiencings.

Red skies, maggots and flies, the stench of dead sometimes jerking me from slumber.

Just to go back to that hellscape to realize my internal flaws and FIX myself.

An exhausting but ultimately highly rewarding cycle is what I call my Shadow Work.

Roads I have driven down countless times, cracked and reclaimed by a toxic and mutated version of nature. Orange and red hues with fog rolling through.

A house at the top of a hill, a kill, if you will- with headstones tightly packed in clusters surrounding the looming dark structure, circling down the hill to the main road I find myself repeatedly going down. Rivers and creeks I have explored in the waking world are full of trash and dead fish; belly up and swollen green.

I hear the earth's cries..

I see what will happen.

I feel compelled to do something about it.

But will it be enough?

I have to try.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

SynneR De'Viant Khrystian

An Aries trans-man with a plan including PAN. A Practicing eclectic witch and metaphysical researcher. A fighter for peace and understanding. A Cat Dad and Cannabis patient. A Healer and a Listener. A cosplayer and Galaxy Nerd. Hello! <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.