Poets logo

Oh, Franklin

My Friend

By Chris Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
My first friend wasn't human or real. But what a friend nonetheless.

We met in a shoe cupboard. You laid on your back.

I helped you get out and into my knapsack.

You were open and sweet, polite and so kind.

Little did I know then, the adventures we'd find.

--

I learned from you what friendship meant.

That scary things and sad times too would relent.

We grew together and apart with the times.

Yet you'd welcome me back with songs and a rhyme.

--

I'm older now - and settled with this version of me.

But Franklin you're there and just as lovely.

No you're not mine, but surely I'm yours.

A child you've helped become so much more.

--

Oh, how rich I was to have this first Friend.

Let's meet again, at the bridge 'round the bend.

Reading with Franklin helped me learn to love stories.

childrens poetry
Like

About the Creator

Chris

Small-time writer looking to write something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.