Poets logo

Of Youth and Old Age

The Comforts of Everyday Life

By Heather CumboPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
5
Of Youth and Old Age
Photo by Diego PH on Unsplash

I still believe in fairies

and I wish upon stars.

The magic is different now.

No more wishes for ponies

nor "please let Isaiah like me"

(or Justin or Charles or Todd).

Now I look to the skies

and ask for financial stability

and please help my writing career.

And by the way, Universe

or Fate,

or God,

thank you for the love I have

in Jason.

And for our little girl.

I walk like my mother now

and her mother before her.

But I still tell myself,

"Someday I'll play tennis again."

And who knows?

I can be skinny again, too.

Time creeps on.

I've seen wars

and disasters.

And The Price is Right is not the same

nor is Jeopardy.

But I still find comfort in

a good book,

a cup of tea,

and 60's music.

I still believe in fairies

and wish upon stars.

Santa visits our home.

I still play make-believe.

But my hair is turning gray.

My nieces and nephews

and my own child

keep growing and maturing,

leaving baby ways behind.

Someday, I'll be an old lady.

I'll have an empty nest.

Some loved ones will be gone,

while babies keep coming.

I'll still believe in fairies

and still wish upon stars.

performance poetry
5

About the Creator

Heather Cumbo

I once tried to major in Theatre, but ended up going back to my first love, which is Creative Writing. I am a huge bookworm and film buff. I also like theatre (the costume department), classic rock and folk music, and trying new things.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Sooji Fyrd2 years ago

    I truly love this. You captured the truth of the passing you with simple heartfelt phrases I am saving this one in my folder. It speaks to me. Thank you for sharing.

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    oh, this is beautiful. Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Delightful read!!! Loving it💕😊💖💕

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    So sweet and poignant :) I hope to always keep that part of me that can play pretend, wait for Santa, wish on stars. Loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.