Poets logo

ODIN

The Wanderer

By C. Rommial ButlerPublished about a month ago 1 min read
2
Georg von Rosen, "Odin the Wanderer"

ODIN

God is good with only one eye.

***** * *****

Sanctuary

We all claim to guard that secret… but it turns out it’s the secret that guards us.

***** * *****

Unrequited Love

I offered only my self.

I did not offer to be a circus act, an accessory to a fantasy about meeting the expectations and judgments of others.

I offered only my self.

I loved you.

You tried through surreptitious means to manipulate me into becoming that which suited you, yet I offered only my self and my love for you.

It was not enough. It would never have been enough.

For you did not love me, but only the fantasy.

Nevertheless, you had so much more to offer me than I did you…

How could I not love you?

***** * *****

The Serpent and the Dove

The dove perches on the wire, between the barbs. Does it understand its precarious position?

The barbs were meant for trespassers climbing to break in or prisoners trying to escape.

The dove doesn’t care about the treasures within the one place any more than the horrors within the other.

The dove carries its treasure with it everywhere it goes by virtue of remaining uncaged.

Which might make us wonder whether the treasure-seekers were not already prisoners before they climbed the fence.

***** * *****

One-Eyed Wisdom

A poetic rendering of reality makes it bearable.

We should always seek to discern truth

But not necessarily to act on what we find.

***** * *****

Inscrutable

Things are not always

As they seem, friend, now are they

Always as they seem?

***** * *****

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

C. Rommial Butler

C. Rommial Butler is a writer, musician and philosopher from Indianapolis, IN. His works can be found online through multiple streaming services and booksellers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran30 days ago

    I enjoyed all of these so much. My favourite was Unrequited Love.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.