Poets logo

ode to the old

in with the new

By Tina MillerPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
My neighbor in Altmar, NY

It was warm once, upon my soul

The lingering smell was afternoon mow

The skies were lighted with simple delight

Hoping that there would be no fright

With the light closing and the wind crap

My childhood was horrible

I have nothing storable

Or delightful to shout

Just tryin to fight my way out

Of a life with no control

Something was holding me deep inside

To come up and eat some thing fried

Other people pass as I cram in the air

In hopes of despair

There will be no trail

So I cry and wait for the night to come

It only gets better so we can have some fun

Only do I hear the night creeping in

Do I understand that we are in for a grin

Only to show that it comes back around

As I grow older, I begin to understand

That my nights are best here in my land

I love my surroundings, I wouldn’t change them a bit

Only to understand now that I am a hit

So leave me to myself and understand

I am a happy person with my life in my hands

Ode to the meek and in with the strands

Of starting some thing new

With only a certain few

To enjoy while playing in my land

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Tina Miller

I have always written. Since I can remember I have kept a diary. Now I just want to show my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.