Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Ode to the mundane

-

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
9
Ode to the mundane
Photo by Can yılmaz on Unsplash

it is not when you are free,

the bursts of early, summer love that curls your toes

The reason why I find the most important part of my life to be in between

The spaces of the gravity-defying magic days,

Is because it's true,

The quiet, boring moments give us the

Rapture, the serenity, the truth.

Doing my own laundry and washing my own sheets without silent judgement

That I may not do it perfectly or right,

Buying my own clothes with my own money,

And not having loud judgment over the way I want to dress,

Going to the bathroom and having my privacy

Without yells to embarrass me out sooner.

And writing the words I want to write,

Without mockery,

No more black & blue imprints on my pages

But black and white.

The ode to the mundane is my love theme

To make me sane,

To wake up from an early grave,

To make my bed only once my way and not be forced to be in tears

To make it his way a hundred times angrily,

To not spin around in circles

Like the washing machine,

Because all cycles have a stopper,

I just need to not let it be reset.

heartbreakCONTENT WARNING
9

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran10 months ago

    Whoaaaaa, this was sooooo deep and emotional! This was so well done! You deserve a standing ovation!

  • Mariann Carroll10 months ago

    This was awesome. It was very grounding as well. I love your unique way creations 💓

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Absolutely awesome!!! Loved this, Melissa!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Blessings to you, my friend. I pray all is going well & that you're not only adjusting to but dearly loving your new digs & routine.

  • Mother Combs10 months ago

    I can so empathize with this

  • Kendall Defoe 10 months ago

    Wow. You got me with this one!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.