Poets logo

Ode to the Laundry Hamper

reworked poem

By simplicityPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
1

Bushel hamper, wickerwork, hamper basket
Far from your days as a case or casket
Southern born
Who knew your purpose would out grow the fruits, veggies and grains who used you as just a basket
1897, on your way, Sears and Roebuck answered those who asked what can task-it
A beautiful receptacle for the dirty, disheveled work clothes we disown
Built-in, hidden, or a moveable facet
1966, Sears and Roebucks catelogue moved from a simple ad to a three page packet
In all shapes and sizes, often padded with baking soda or litter to hide the smell of our worn
To me you are no less important than anyone living in my hamlet
A welcomed collector, a teacher who taught my dog to pick up socks for a biscuit the fastest
The one on my side, in cahoots, keeping things organized in my cleaning, leaving me fresh and reborn
Far from your days as a case or casket

humor
1

About the Creator

simplicity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Darkos9 months ago

    I love how You wrote it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.