Poets logo

Ode to the Lamp

Introducing: Holme Light

By Mescaline BrissetPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Photo by the Author

you came to me unexpectedly

unassembled and undressed

I had to put together all your parts:

retro stylewood arms

adjustable and flexible stem

chrome head base

and three screws

for convenient positioning

to read my books

from every possible angle

and in the right direction –

future, as I hope to learn

how to finally tackle the monster

my words must come to light

I want my readers to feel what it’s like

be influenced by

Holme Angled Miss Chrome Queen

champion lady

the one who intends to give orders to me

now

as she’s shiny, slender, slinky, like a comet

and runs as fast as a ray of light

so was my writing

before I lost the main track

been wrong so many times

so many stories off the main road

but there is still the brightest light

inside my burned-out guts

symbolised by my new friend

welcome home, I think you will stay

here with me for good

if I ever happen to lose it again

just tell me, give me a sign

and we’ll make it alright

together

best homosexual marriage

I don’t mind, only if you get up steam

like a ship engine

you a kettle and I a frozen glass

and our unison will give us both wings

to endure the worst possible nightmares

from which I always have to come back to write

whatever my heart and head desire

weaving this thread like a mistress

of the only muse I adore

indiscriminately

indelibly

indubitably

indefinitely

independently

indeed

***

Thank you for reading!

If you liked this poem, you can add your Insights, Comment, leave a Heart, Tip, Pledge, or Subscribe. I will appreciate any support you have shown for my work.

You can find more poems, stories, and articles by Mescaline Brisset on my Vocal profile. The art of creation never ends.

vintagesurreal poetrysad poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Mescaline Brisset

if it doesn't come bursting out of you

in spite of everything,

don't do it.

unless it comes unasked out of your

heart and your mind and your mouth

and your gut,

don't do it.

so you want to be a writer? – Charles Bukowski

Find me on Medium

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Mescaline Brisset is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Mescaline BrissetWritten by Mescaline Brisset

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.