Poets logo

Ode to the Bleeding Heart Dove

ACGP, 03/12/13

By FaeriewitcHPublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like

I start as a dove of white and Ivory. Free, Willfull, careless and flitty.

High, I soar boundless, unsettling for.

Heart iron-cast, herein Passion molten core.

Wind has taken me to places unexpected.

Even as I ponder, somehow unsuspected,

A dove has no master, wings unclipped nor mustered.

As deemed fate, alas, I garnered

This who came and master,

In a cage ruled me euphoria and smolder;

Endeared me truly,

in awe, fully.

Engagement all but soon in ruin and fluster.

This joy, short-lived encumbered

Escape is freedom, chosen, mutually ensembled.

In this cage heart bled, accepting.

Bittersweet is red upon my chest worth keeping.

Marked and marred this blood unkempt.

Wounded from the old cage once kept,

Sweetly this new old dove flew still,

Silver linings and birth anew so at will.

Parrots and finches soon came…

Small dove, big dove, new found fame.

Caring upfront, or sometimes not

Appreciation, fingers pointed on the spot.

'Ere comes Pelican drew the line as I knew.

Great, Bit off more than he can chew.

Desired much too as Two a fish;

No not a Fish caught, no not as he wish.

Pigeon came, wings broken inasmuch,

Here I, rescue with a crutch.

Loneliness saturated alas,

So, Wings aclose not one an Atlas.

Peacock knew "all that" as he thought.

Flashing about, folly and amuck.

Happiness he thought he knew at last bought.

Beyond envy, creeping, as it was under his frock.

Closer to home my white feathers touch,

'Ere comes chicken, plans hatched.

Came home with a crow, downs latch

Say he no return without the attached

Chicken tried, clucked and riled

Still this bloodred frill shown freely,

Hurt and strife Worn with pride.

Cocktears smuck and silly.

Thinking here, maim as I am

Acceptance Beyond sham

This blood as red as it is dignified

Behind this new dove, trembling terrified

Courage enfold me! I cry…

Change slowly crept in as I knelt, bent a-pile

In vain, though shrouded, Bloom I.

Peacock was there looking all the while

Flourish I had since freedom came,

Pelican, Chicken, Peacock aghast--

New masters echo amass,

Flurry and blurry, slurry-drenched angst

Slain their beakery, Peacock did.

Chicken, sullen on jealousy.

Pelican, achoke in creed.

Pigeon, sits but amorously.

'Ere I, the dove…

Tumultously swivered yet perfectly still,

Gloriously tainted, my chest do fill

bloody red across thy heart stood I by the sill.

Plain and seen, chirping with a trill.

I am but a dove with pride, self worth I heed,

See my heart bleed!

arising from ashes and blood,

Deign me soul, in me flood

Hear me, new master never let your vanity feed…

Across my chest a bright red seed.

Proud I flee, for unconscientiously freed.

Strength I owe to treeroots and faith,

Hear ye, If desire is only skin deep,

Thou’st eat your heart on a plate.

~ACGP 03-12-13

nature poetrylove poemsheartbreak
Like

About the Creator

FaeriewitcH

”For I am no more than a spiritual being immersed in human experience.”

-Teilhard de Chardin

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.