Poets logo

Ode to Peanut Butter and Jelly

childhood snacks

By Omobolanle OlaniyanPublished about a month ago 1 min read
Like
Ode to Peanut Butter and Jelly
Photo by Freddy G on Unsplash

In hush of my childhood kitchen,

Where sunlight danced on linoleum tiles,

I found solace in a simple creation,

A sandwich that sparked wide smiles.

Two slices of bread, soft and warm,

A canvas for culinary delight,

Spread thick with creamy peanut butter,

And a dollop of jelly, sweet and bright.

With each bite, a symphony of flavors,

A fusion of salty and sweet,

A harmony that sang in my mouth,

A melody I could never repeat.

The peanut butter, smooth as silk,

Its nutty richness a comforting embrace,

While the jelly burst with fruity joy,

Leaving a lingering kiss of grace.

Oh, how the memories flood back,

Of lazy afternoons and carefree days,

Lost in the bliss of my favorite snack,

In a world where time simply fades.

Now, as I spread the creamy spread,

And swirl the jelly with gentle care,

I'm transported back to that kitchen,

Where love and laughter filled the air.

Though years have passed and times have changed,

The taste of childhood remains the same,

In every bite of peanut butter and jelly,

I find a piece of me that will never wane.

So here's to the humble sandwich,

A treat that transcends both space and time,

Forever etched in my heart's memory,

A cherished relic of a sweeter clime.

Ode
Like

About the Creator

Omobolanle Olaniyan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Omobolanle Olaniyan is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.