Poets logo

Ode to Nighttime Routines

By J. L. GreenPublished 6 months ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
3

I am amazed whenever I see your sweet face,

Whether smiling or scrunched up to cry;

Either way your skin is peachy and soft,

Without ever needing to try.

*

My mother's voice echoes in my head,

With sage advice I recite to the letter,

"Why not try putting him in a warm bath?

It will make him feel so much better."

*

Your cheeks are chubby and round, my son

As large as a ripe nectarine;

You splish and splash and laugh so loud,

Tears are gone, bath is done; all clean!

*

The lotion we use is the lavender kind,

It is calming and it will help soothe,

You rub tired eyes and I rub ticklish sides,

To keep your skin all nice and smooth.

*

You smile and giggle while half asleep,

When you feel gentle kisses abound,

One for each cheek, your forehead, your nose,

To my ear it's the sweetest sound.

*

Alas it is time that I lay you down,

I hope you rest well through the night;

If not, I will rock you and rub silky cheeks,

Then we both can greet Suns morning light.

love poems
3

About the Creator

J. L. Green

I've been writing for fun since I was a preteen and haven’t stopped since. I tend to favor the darker/angsty/thriller type of themes. Here’s to hoping readers enjoy my work, and those that don't find something they do.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Abigail Penhallegon6 months ago

    This is just really nice, very gentle, very sweet. Thank you for your poem. :)

  • Jennifer David6 months ago

    Omg the picture made me think of my cute little niece. I can't get enough of her. Anyway, that's why the poem caught my eye. The poem is so hearthfelt and endearing. Thank you so much for sharing. My senses were engaged while I read this. I feel like I was in the poem. Beautiful work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.