Poets logo

Ode To My Not-a-Pet Pigeon

Meet my unlikely pal,Byrdie

By Marilyn GloverPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 2 min read
4
Author's photo- Meet Byrdie, my not-a-pet pigeon; she/he isn't camera shy at all!

Oh, dearest, my not a pet pigeon

Sitting pretty and comfy on my balcony ledge

I recall our first encounter, my angst, more than a smidgeon

Yet your power of persuasion gave you an edge

My air fist pumps cursed your loose feathers and droppings

Caught up in a common notion: you are a dirty bird

The reformed me is grateful for my idea swappings

Through your insistent presence, a shift occurred

I understand that my human excuses are lame

Please accept my apologies by gifting you a name

*

Oh, dear Byrdie, let us shift to the blessing

The morning, the moment, you forever changed my mind

Yes, my avian friend, this is me confessing

My love and devotion, a three-sixty from the previous, a person blind

Remember that morn when I was sipping coffee half awake on the deck

You dove in and planted your duff on the ledge an arm's length away

With sleep-crusted eyes, my hair like one of the Fry Guys; I was a wreck

But you moved in a little closer as if to say, "It's okay"

Your almond-shaped eyes melted my heart; perfect plumage: purple, green

An instant connection, a bond surpassing the previously unseen

*

Oh, Byrdie, a fine pair we have become sharing my sacred space

Upping the ante, our friendship has grown

When I sing to you, your reaction is a nonphysical embrace

You coo, you preen, you are relaxed; of practice, new skills, we hone

Two spirits, two souls, sitting together in perfect company

Like an elderly couple rocking in their rockers enjoying nature's glory

Me and you, morning, noon, late afternoon, cozy together on my balcony

With you, time is elusive, and I haven't one worry

I cherish our moments and time spent together

Outdoors Summer pals; of flesh and feather

*

Oh, dearest Byrdie, I understand that our moments may prove fleeting

Someday, you will fly away, never to return

How I wish I were more accommodating upon our first meeting

But you stuck by me, sensing what my heart hath yearned

Subtlety, naturally, you found the pathway to my core

My loneliness, my depression, has dwindled; peace and hope renewed

I see through the eyes of one who flies; it's time for me to soar

Your wisdom is my medicine; of wings, my soul tattooed

Byrdie, I love you, yes, this is true, but you still are not my pet

You are more; friend, cheerleader, and spirit guide- I am happy that we met

nature poetrylove poemsinspirational
4

About the Creator

Marilyn Glover

7x Medium boosted poet, editor, and Reiki Master who is at her best when in nature. Creating to boost humanity while often not coloring within the lines. Follow me at: https://gmarilyn009.medium.com/

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • IvanaCh9 months ago

    beautiful poem Marilyn :)

  • Gosh this made me so emotional! Byrdie is so adorable and I wish he/she always stays with you! Loved your wonderful ode!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.