Poets logo

Ode To: My Mirror

Thank you for seeing all of me.

By Miyah HendersonPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

“Ode To: My Mirror”

To the object that sees all of me

Every lump and bump

Scars, scratches, and bruises

Your pristine appearance astounds me

Crystal clear

Sharp edges protrude out

But your surface, as delicate as can be

I am simply me around you

My emotions aren’t afraid to flourish around you

They surface themselves

They allow themselves to be seen by you

The tears that stream down my cheeks

Are magnified by you

The act of crying

The grin that grows from ear to ear

A new-found twinkle in my eye

Happiness

You help me see it

I find myself primping

A date

The first one

Because of you

He saw me too

When I stand in front of you

I see the future

Everything I can be

I see the past

Everything I once was

I see the present

Everything that I am

Thank you for seeing all of me

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Miyah Henderson

Just a college student trying to find a good creative outlet, you know?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.