Poets logo

Ode to my DNA

.

By abril shawPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
2

Last night, I spared a thought

on the genetic coding each of us has got

An obedient phenomena that we all share

It breaks and multiplies, we are not even aware

I look at my nails, such wonders

The lines on my palms I see them as thunders

The pleats of alveoli and all of my veins

they feel like a treasure, they’re never the same

The way my jaw rests on my skull

No color of my body could ever be dull

My teeth will live longer than I

My organs will dissolve and my body subside

I’ll travel the wind in the form of particles

come back in the shape of different articles

Red mushrooms with white rounded dots

A big drop of rain that then becomes lots

The way phloem vessels in green leaves are made

A perfect example of our world’s parade

A double helix of information

Is interwoven in my fascination

Tribes from the amazon and from eastern zones

Spoke of serpents instead of chromosomes

But it is all the same, a tiger, a dove

A crocodile’s egg or a lone stray dog

The girl you like and a wild wolf

are made of the same messages and tools

Enjoy life and its manifestations

Drop all unnecessary pretensions

The water, the sky, the sun and the sea

are all our stage to let go and be

Do not jump too fast into conclusions

Leave behind all false illusions

I look at my hands, fascinating beauty

Being part of nature is the simplest duty

I write while I stare at the park in splendour

being behind a screen won’t make me surrender

I put on my boots, I need to go out

multiply my feelings and wander about

I think a lot but I have no clue

Whether to hug an oak tree or swim in a pool

Camp between grey rocks on a hilly mountain

Invest in my knowledge as if in a fountain

I miss stroking the back of a horse

and the blue of the ocean, I miss it, of course

I’m suddenly sad but then I remember

the yellow mimosas, so fuzzy and tender

Listening to elders and what they have to say

Drinking herbal teas, looking far away

Walking on the edge of a high white cliff

Hearing the voice of the ones you miss

Picking up some pebbles along the shore

And teaching a kid how to throw some more

Evolving levels on an upward spiral

The DNA forming everything that's vital

art
2

About the Creator

abril shaw

27 year old Argentinean living in London, writing and cooking good food.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.