Poets logo

Ode to My Breakfast Cereal

(Soma)tic: Immersing Self in Vast Grey Morning

By Daisy LennonPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

O granola steeped in milk

and honey O most perfect

apricot wrinkled thumbprint of the

sun float miraculous in my

2% and make my stomach

smile O crisp O crunch

of almonds fat and round

drive me nuts but not

bananas which I only like

with peanut-butter which also

comes from nuts it must

be something about the texture

the mush and gush of

gnashing into the shaft I

promise this isn’t a poem

about sex just cereal and

maybe the bowl which cups

it all fat and round

to which I press my

hungry parted seeking lips and

slurp milk flowing riverlike and

free this still is not

a poem about sex it’s

about granola soft-baked bear-

naked fruits and nuts knowledge

of god and fleeing gardens

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Daisy Lennon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.