Poets logo

Ode to Kalindi:

In collaboration with Zi Zoe

By Saroyan ColesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3
Ode to Kalindi:
Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Kalindi mi rayo de sol

(Kalindi my sun ray)

you’re majestic as mountains

I climb

lo que sea, NINGUNO

(Whatever, no)

I build

palaces of my dreams!

I place my hopes

above its summit..

you’re my vast desert..

Kalindi mi rayo de sol

(Kalindi my sun ray)

the world is a dark place,

few things

give me light-

tu cara is everlasting...

(your face is everlasting)

I mean,

tu rostro is del sol-

( your face is from the sun)

And in the light of the world

Your is soul is like a lamp-

Con la mañana la brisa

acercándose

( In the morning the breeze approaching)

before dawn rises ...

the threads of warmth

creep into optimism...

Con los ojos como un

salto de agua

(With his eyes like a waterfall)

in delight, from thirst

Con tus ojos

(With your eyes)

I derive my soul

rather full of promise

Si, siempre-

(Yes, always)

Si, ese brillo en tus ojos

es luz del sol

( Yes, that brightness

in your eyes it’s sunlight)

Your picture comes

to my mind after—

Segundo,

(Second)

I look,

to the sky,

I am forced to smile-

As if

clouds were telling me:

Why this narrowing

in my chest

is as long as the universe is WIDE

WITHOUT you

I did not always see the universes

goodness,

Or the radiance

greatness of others intentions-

I can go through oases,

I can take refuge in trees,

Kalindi mi rayo de sol

(Kalindi my sun ray)

is the alimento that

(is the food that)

nourishes my soul...

love poems
3

About the Creator

Saroyan Coles

I want to empower others with my writing. I have always dreamed of seeing my name, on something.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.