Poets logo

Ode to His Suitcase

Love, the Pilot's Wife

By A. LenaePublished 9 months ago 1 min read
9
Ode to His Suitcase
Photo by Sun Lingyan on Unsplash

You’re not my baggage

My future

fits in your meshed pocket

next to his nice slacks and Stephen King book

And we haven’t touched

but you wear my hoarse goodbyes

and hellos differently

than the airport chaos

against your ballistic nylon finest

You’re not my baggage

My congruity

is where you find me

on the conveyer belt in our bedroom

And we haven’t unpacked it

but your retractable handle

extends to alert me

that our glowing hour is here

as Jean Paul Richter would say

You’re not my baggage

My trust

finds its shape zipped up in you

when he lifts you up out of his trunk

And I don’t greet you

but it’s because you held me

all throughout your trip

until you open and you spill out and

You're not my baggage

love poems
9

About the Creator

A. Lenae

I'm learning how to find the heart and describe it, often using metaphors. Thanks for reading.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Mackenzie Davis7 months ago

    "My congruity is where you find me on the conveyer belt in our bedroom And we haven’t unpacked it but your retractable handle extends to alert me that our glowing hour is here" I feel like this is a case of unreliable narrator, and that is why I'm getting the sense of someone speaking with both love/hope and disdain. The pilot's wife...yeah, wow. I'm totally seeing a heartbreak here. 'Conveyer belt in our bedroom' -- that could refer to him cheating...or it could refer to him being incongruous (ie, leaving a lot) and her remaining constant. But that also implies he's NOT constant. Yet, "glowing hour" implies that she just misses him when he's gone and when they're together, it's magic, and they both look forward to it. So, perhaps she just has some doubts about fidelity ("you're not my baggage," meant literally, he's not the things you THINK he's done). Such depth here! Incredible poem. Like LC, I am startled this didn't place. Masterful writing.

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    What a smashing idea! Can't believe this didn't place 😮

  • Donna Fox (HKB)8 months ago

    I love the duality of this! The idea that you're speaking with this man that he's not your problem and neither is literal baggage! Very clever!

  • Oh wow, that was so profound! Such an amazing ode!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Wow! That was pretty deep. Well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.