Poets logo

Ode to Ear-buds

This is an ode to earbuds and how can help you through some of the hardest moments in life and amplify the way you feel. They can act like your best bud when you feel alone in this big world.

By SabrinaPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
3
From Pinterest by Stocksy

You travel with me everywhere

To the store, to my car, to my class, to the library,

and even to their house and in their room,

and I’ll always prefer it that way.

Even though I don’t mind silence,

or the everyday noises around me,

I need you with me at all times.

Even when I’m not using you,

just sit in my pocket and wait for me

because holding you brings me comfort.

You take me to a better place,

making me want to run miles just for fun.

You make me feel like I’m the main character,

igniting a power or strength I didn’t know I had.

You take me to a dreadful place,

making getting out of bed a difficult task.

You cause my mind to wander back into sadness.

You sometimes help me focus to get a task done,

but you sometimes distract me from it as well.

You always take me to places where I'm not.

Riling me up and calming me down.

Reminding me of past moments and feelings,

like dancing with old buds at prom,

or the time we spent all day wallowing in bed.

I can withstand the silence but I still need you.

You have a power that I cannot live without.

You explain how I feel when words fail me,

and you show me all the times that I took for granted.

You’re the smallest piece of my life with the biggest impact.

I could live without you but I don’t want to.

love poemslist
3

About the Creator

Sabrina

Everything I want to say has been said before in some way,

but that will not and could not keep me silent.

So come read the things I have to say,

in a way that is all my own.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    Impressive work! Well done🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.