Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Ode to Clouds, Kittens and Cake

Lovely Poem. Honest. No Need for a Content Warning. Honest. Inspired/challenged by Heather Hubler!

By Paul StewartPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
Incase you can't tell, this was made by me in Craiyon and then Canva Pro

As I sit back in a comfortable chair

I let my mind wander, in the chair

I daydream of clouds in the sky

I daydream of clouds way up high

As I sit back in that imprinted chair

I let my mind ponder, Sit and stare

Clouds mean rain, rain means refreshment

Rain also means torrential drenching

The heavens opening up and saturating

The earth below and everything on her

*

As I continue to sit, restlessly in the chair

I let my mind wander, ponder, in the chair

I daydream of kittens down by my feet

I daydream of kittens sitting so sweet

For a time, they are cute, cuddly and charming

Before they start miaowing wildly, so disarming

Then come the claws and the ripping of flesh

All fur, big eyes and a psychopathic love of inflicting pain

Take your fish and get out of the house, feline!

*

As I still sit, a little clawed and ripped up in my chair

I ponder, as I still there, dishevelled in my comfy chair

I daydream of cake, because cake is sweet and cake is love

I daydream of fluffy sponge, chocolate icing, carbs are love

Cake brings me joy, neverending joy, my belly feels full

Cake is the one true good, nothing could taint it

Unless

It's cake that has been laced with a diuretic or laxatives

Then the effects of cake are less joyful, there's less positives

Cake laced with poison, is worse still

For instead of sitting with a belly so full, or pissing or pooing until I'm empty

I'd be lying in a coffin, ready for the fires to consume and cook me til I'm ashes and no more

***

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: Well, if you wanna know the story behind this weirdness, take a look at Heather Hubler's latest, excellent, gut-punch of emotion piece, ruination, link below and look at the comments section. A call to arms was given for a poem about clouds, kittens and cake...

You're all welcome.

If you have time and inclination, check out these pieces, if you like:

Also, check out my profile for the rest of my work here.

inspirationalsurreal poetrysocial commentarysad poetryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsheartbreakfact or fiction

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Kristen Balyeat7 months ago

    lol! I love the direction you took this poem. OMG! I was laughing out loud. I'll have to check out your little challenge with Heather, but this was....stellar, pal. The ending... Can't stop giggling!

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Bahahah! This made me happy. I don’t have cats but like watching them and anything about cake man and I am THERE!! Lol! Really enjoyed this randomness too. I’ve not read the comment to Heather yet. Swell job though! 😁😆

  • Oooo, a poison cake. Imagine someone asks me what's my favourite cake flavour and I say poison. Lol. I'm gonna start doing that. Loved your poem Sir Paul! 🍩🥐

  • A favorite prank among junior high schoolers: "Hey, wanna piece of chocolate." (Ex-Lax, that is.)

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    That took a turn, as expected 🤣🤣

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Well, you rose to the challenge well, Sir. Not that I'd expect anythng less. And this is is why I prefer pie and dogs. Clouds are kinda' unavoidable.

  • Heather Hubler7 months ago

    Bahahaha!!! That went to shit fast...literally. Ahh, I have my work cut out for me as you even threw in some rhyme!! Thanks for the smile and laugh :)

  • Hannah Moore7 months ago

    I mean, perhaps I need to go look before commenting, but I am wondering if the point was to be, you know....fluffy and soft and non threatening?

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.