Poets logo

Ode to Buffy the Vampire Slayer

by Savannah Henley-Rayve

By Savannah Eve Henley-RayvePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Ode to Buffy the Vampire Slayer
Photo by Igam Ogam on Unsplash

Beach blonde babe but always with a dagger in her hand.

Red leather pants,

And the realization that maybe it’s okay to love you like That.

Ten years old,

Sitting straight backed on my mother’s bed frame we watched you like Saint Buffy.

Oh, Sancta Maria, show us how to land a punch like you,

to win a fight like you,

walk boldfaced and brilliant through the backlit alley’s like you.

So whenever the maintenance men try to watch me through my window,

and whistle and hoot when I walk out the back door,

I may look to your face, poster pinned on my wall in place of a stained glass window.

Pretty face but calloused in its glory.

I kneel on my bedframe and hope I look like you.

Holding out for a different kind of salvation,

I will memorize the curves of your hands like a prayer.

love poems

About the Creator

Savannah Eve Henley-Rayve

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Savannah Eve Henley-RayveWritten by Savannah Eve Henley-Rayve

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.