Poets logo

Ode to a Warrior

How the Big Bad Wolf Was Foiled Again

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
Ode to a Warrior
Photo by Philipp Pilz on Unsplash

Neath stealthy padded feet

Twigs crackle to the rear

My pulse rises to pound in my veins

Staccato drums beating out fear

I tried to look behind me

But was unable to turn

For in front of me a rabid wolf

Made my roiling gut churn

Fangs glistened as he snarled

Foaming spittle dripped like acid rain

Onto the dead foliage

Feral eyes gleaming, enraged, in pain

Hackles raised as forelegs bent

I knew this hike would be a bust

In vain attempt at defense my arms rose

No match, I would die a painful death so unjust

I felt my bladder release, it’s warmth almost soothing

As with a last snarl the carnivore sprang

I fell to the ground screaming in terror

As another beast roared and my eardrums rang

The beast behind me collided in midair

With my hungry, enraged, would be devourer

A battle such as I have never witnessed

Titans fighting over this tasty, meaty cowerer

Who is the other contestant, this furred warrior

Raising my eyes from the filthy mud and dirt

I wept in awe, relief, and prayerful thanks

Bulldog versus wolf, both badly hurt

Shakily I raised to my knees

Finally made it to my feet; scared, shaken, crying

I made a vow, this canine hero would survive

If I had to use my fists, Rover would not be dying

The canines, dog and wolf, fought like raging bulls

Biting, clawing, ripping, snarling, bleeding

I picked up a stout oaken branch

This promise I would indeed be heeding

I circled on trembling legs, slowly

Until I could get within hitting distance

I swung the branch with all my might

A wolf’s skull didn’t put up too much resistance

As I fell once more to the ground

I crawled to my brave injured savior

I don’t know this dog…, he’s not mine

At a loss to explain his heroic behavior

As I placed a hand upon his cheek, he licked me

His rough tongue leaving a clean trail

Upon my unworthy skin

His bumpy tongue had written Love in braille

Yes, We made it off the mountain

With aid from sticks, jacket, and vines

A travois to drag him painstakingly down

Please survive my warrior, I’ll pay any fines

Turns out this dog escaped from the pound

Where some scared person had dumped him

Just because of his breed and his deep throaty sound

Warrior and I are now doing fine

My best, dearest, bravest friend

My house is yours Warrior

This I vow to the very end

social commentaryslam poetrynature poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Awww, Warrior 🥺❤️ He's so brave and courageous! Definitely the best hero ever!

  • Brenton F11 months ago

    What a magnificent piece, your stores told in this from ae quite epic! Good old Rover! (Silly me asking: A true story or an embellishment of assorted facts and anecdotes?)

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.