Poets logo

Ode to a Mixing Bowl

togetherness is what you are

By Caroline JanePublished 10 months ago 1 min read
15
Ode to a Mixing Bowl
Photo by Sushmita Chatterjee on Unsplash

You make me a better mother

I am half arsed, half full, half lost...

too tired, too busy, too stressed..

... too much.

Searching and scratching and

tired..

so tired.

So very, very, tired.

I remember you, tucked away in a cupboard.

Reliable, stoic, clean, up for it...

Yes!

Let's make something;

all of us,

together.

If I pour and you stir?

Yes?

We can crack a few eggs and chuck in some sugar,

and bake...

... a while.

Childhood memories fill up our kitchen.

Thank you.

Thank you.

I can be a mum.

I can.

You help me show love.

I love you...

I love you.

I love you, my son.

love poems
15

About the Creator

Caroline Jane

Warm-blooded vertebrate, domesticated with a preference for the wild. Howls at the moon and forages on the dark side of it. Laughs like a hyena. Fuelled by good times and fairy dust. Writes obsessively with no holes barred.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (17)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantor2 months ago

    Cj - You always Feast-Me - Good-Good Friday 2U’z - Never saw the tie-in Easter🐣Eggs & Bunny’s🐰— My Traditional Easter meal is Fried 🐇Rabbit {The Day After} — Is That Wrong? — - Bless your young Family- Jk.in.l.a.

  • Is there anything better than the creations that come out of the mixing bowl! I love when I see my wife has it out because I know something is about to taste good 😊

  • L.C. Schäfer9 months ago

    "Licking the bowl" is some of my happiest childhood memories 😁

  • Morgana Miller10 months ago

    This is so beautiful and real. I love that despair and doubt becomes a road to quality time and love; it's heavy and light at the same time. My favorite part was the description of the bowl, I think, "Reliable, stoic, clean, up for it..."

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    You are not alone. I think we all feel like that sometimes ❤️ I love that you found such a simple way to shed all of those doubts, fears and stresses and remember how wonderful you are.

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Cooking is certainly a great way to build memories with loved ones, especially children. I have very fond memories in the kitchen with my grandmother. Thank you for reminding me those.

  • Lana V Lynx10 months ago

    This is such a great ode, and I love how you put mother's love into a bowl :).

  • Some great words perfectly assembled, great ode

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Fabulously written and loving it!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Catherine Dorian10 months ago

    Oh, what a beautiful ode to the simplest thing that so many people have in their kitchen. The mixing bowl can be a way to distract, entertain, calm, gather. I especially appreciate how the latter half of the poem reads rhythmically, as if you're chanting to yourself while you mix a dough or batter. It's as if what you're creating in the mixing bowl calms you.

  • Cathy holmes10 months ago

    This wonderful, and that ending was the sweetest of all. Well done.

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    This was so beautiful, Caroline! Seriously...I love how it started with personal feelings and how the humble mixing bowl can help you rise to the occasion and what's needed as a parent! Lovely stuff!

  • Awww, this was so sweet and lovely! Wonderful ode!

  • Teresa Renton10 months ago

    Fun and imaginative, also heartwarming, loved it 😍

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    So sweet! I absolutely love it!

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    Aw, I love this so much - how something as ordinary as a mixing bowl can help bring you closer and create memories. ☺️ So sweet and full of warmth!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.