Poets logo

Ode to a Limoges Cream Pitcher

Making the Inanimate Real

By Cindy CalderPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
2

Oh, but can you imagine my joy

As I unwrapped the box that you came in that day!

With each piece of paper removed, I could view

Your beauty therein of splendid array.

Amazed by your delicate and petite form

I could only whisper welcoming words

As I gazed with wonder anew

Taking in your charms and sweet curves.

You were a newfound treasure so rich

Fitting well on my shelf, a miniature piece of work.

*

Oh, but your beauty does shine

And fill the emptiness of the drab kitchen’s glow

With a new vibrancy, bestowing utter delight.

I smile and acknowledge you each day with a whispered ‘hello’

Knowing you are ever so lovely and bright.

With each delicate turn, curve, and twist

Of your porcelain’s fragile, sculpted form,

You radiate an elegance of charm that cannot be missed.

An enduring sight to behold with your bounty divine

A vision sublime, your allure well beyond the norm.

*

When I glance your way, I swoon with delight

Glimpsing each painted flower on your bright glowing finish

I want to raise you to the heavens and swirl all about

Complete in my joy for you that will never diminish.

For I’ll keep you close in reach and in sight

Where I can enjoy your beauteous design

Always taking care, to use you here and there

Knowing all the while that you are all mine.

Others will admire you and long for your charms,

But in my care you’ll remain, a treasure most rare.

*

So I’ll rejoice in the day I found you online

And made you mine to treasure for all time

The heavens smiled on me that day

And brought me good fortune with every spent dime.

On my shelf, you’ll always sit in splendor

To shine ‘midst all the other treasures so fine

Holding your own in the gleaming display

Of my cherished collection, divinely all mine.

I shall covet you and speak words of care

To you, my little cream pitcher, who always brightens my day.

vintage
2

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Gerald Holmes10 months ago

    Excellent writing. Such a poetic ode to something so small but means so much.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.