Poets logo

Ode To a Grey Hair

and all of your friends

By Sandra MatosPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
Ode To a Grey Hair
Photo by Mayer Tawfik on Unsplash

Dear Grey Hair,

Remember when

young youth hugged me?

I ran with it,

flew with it.

Thinking I could take my time.

I could wait,

procrastinate.

No time to preserve.

To pay attention.

Then you came and

Shocked me

Rocked me

I screamed,

"Time is here!

Time is empty,

wanting to be noticed,

needing to be filled

with memories

and dreams honored!"

You reminded me

that time was racing

while I was pacing,

taking it for granted.

"I'm scared,

what have I done?"

"Who will I be,

is there time to be born again?"

Roughly, I pulled you away

disconnecting you

from myself.

I set you apart.

You were not me!

You couldn't be.

Then I noticed

your strength.

Gathered from the years.

I tied you to a balloon.

And I shook you.

The balloon

bounced,

flounced,

and even pounced,

but you stayed strong.

When the balloon slapped,

you didn't snap.

You took no CRAP!

And I finally realized

You

are

me.

Every year your friends

have joined you,

and with each one

I grow stronger.

With appreciation.

Sincerely,

Me

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Sandra Matos

I write so that people will remember me. I make art for the same reason. I had a mother that I never knew. Who she was, how she smelled, or what she valued. I don't want anyone to wonder who I was.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 12 months ago

    That shows so much growth and maturity!

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    I love how you were able to change your perspective!! I’ve come to appreciate scars in the same way ❤️

  • ❤️Change💯😉🎯

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.