Poets logo

Ode to a Boot

good bye, my friend

By Vadim KaganPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
7

Good-bye, my boot. You served me long and well.

From snows of heavens to the muds of hell,

From Finger Lakes to trails of Matterhorn -

You've conquered all while looking hardly worn.

The storms have come and gone, my boot. Alas,

This latest one was different for us -

You helped me clean the ultimate driveway

And paid the highest price there is to pay.

The sands of time, the ultimate terrain

Caused many an explorer break in pain;

We both have aged, but you some more than I,

And now the time has come to say good-bye.

inspirational
7

About the Creator

Vadim Kagan

I believe that each day is a blessing, every story is amazing and all poems should rhyme!

Instagram: @wines_and_rhymes

Facebook: www.facebook.com/vadimkagan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Phil Flannery9 months ago

    Feet have to go through a lot in a lifetime, and they need good footwear to make it the distance. Sadly we have to say goodbye to some old boot friends too soon.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    This was marvelous!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    I feel exactly the same when I have to say goodbye to a pair of shoes that I used for years. This poem perfectly expresses my emotions.

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Wonderful piece. Well done.

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Winter boots do serve us well 👍

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Aw, I LOVE this!! Our shoes have been to so many places with us, and through so much! Amazing entry 😍😍😍

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.