Poets logo

Ode to a Bay Window

A seller's goodbye

By Morgana MillerPublished 9 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
14
Ode to a Bay Window
Photo by David Lezcano on Unsplash

For three years you poised, atilt,

On wet wood-rotted beams to frame

That strange fawn, big headphones on,

biking daily down my street,

Six fluffy baby muscovies

Trotting past the Jacaranda trees,

Ursula, the orb weaver, telling me

To take the scary leap.

Monarchs flying by to drink from

Pretty pink Jatropha stars, all those

Passing cars, one hundred thunder storms,

And once

A teen squirrel nearly kissed

A tall white crane, beyond your leftmost pane.

Carpenter ants made a snack

Of your belly and your limbs,

While basil, oregano, parsley, and mint

Licked the fingers of the Southern sun

From their places on your bench—

Barren, now,

But for some new white paint,

Though you must still enshrine

The goings-on

When no one's there to see?

We did learn that our buyers

Have a cat who'll soon watch

That humble slice of world

Beyond your curved refuge, the same one

You showed to me.

As a parting gift I've given you these

Reinforced plywood beams, so that

You won't collapse (in case he's fat),

Then maybe I'll stop by, tomorrow,

Lay the morning in your lap,

Share one last silent story.

nature poetry
14

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    I like the precaution you tool in case the cat's fat! This was such a wonderful ode!

  • Andrei Z.9 months ago

    Such a great piece! I definitely gonna return to it again (and again)

  • Emma Kate Coleman9 months ago

    There's so much genius packed into this ode, Morgana! I have to say, though, that the notion of herbs licking the sun's fingers really had me tickled. Enjoyed this!!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    You mastery of language is a joy to read. This is beyond beautiful and I will be surprised if it doesn't place in the challenge.

  • Marilyn Glover9 months ago

    Beautiful work, Morgana! ❤️

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    So, yeah, this could easily be a winner, Morgana! Well bloody done with this beautiful ode that drew me right in. I found myself reliving and appreciating the memories you were describing because you have a real knack for doing that. And everything was not just superficial nonsense, it was all real emotion and memory-based - just stunning! I shouldn't have expected any less when I cliked on it, though!

  • Dean F. Hardy9 months ago

    I was hoping you would make an appearance. Felt this competition was made for you. Lovely work Morgana, nice way to spend my morning coffee.

  • Mackenzie Davis9 months ago

    I love that-- "lay the morning on your lap." Just gorgeous. Too many beautiful lines to choose from, Morgana, but I adore this poem. What an atmospheric ode you've created here. I can see the whole world from which you wrote this, the feelings of selling, the feelings about the buyers, imagining them in your spaces. Seeing the cat on the bay window is something I feel you're redeeming here by fixing it for him, despite a mixed bag of emotions. What a lovely, deceptively simple, take on the challenge, which I am here for! Great job. This was a joy to read once and then again. 💖

  • Caroline Jane9 months ago

    So elegant, wistful, and loaded with melancholy. Gorgeous words. The "silent story" is such a wonderful way to frame all that emotion and joy. Beautiful. ❤️

  • So wistful, the sorrow & reluctance of having to leave that which is comfortable & familiar, wanting to hold on just a little longer, so beautifully captured here, Morgana.

  • Test9 months ago

    Holy shit! I have goosebumps from this, Morgana. Your words have had an actual physical effect on me. Wow! Just wow! This is so vivid, so tangible–the emotional attachment so palpable. I love each and every perfectly placed word! This is first place quality right here. Brava!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.