Poets logo

Oceans Apart

Watching for White Cliffs

By Ruth AnnPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Oceans Apart
Photo by Ethan Z on Unsplash

I miss them

I miss the melons I eat waiting for their texts

I miss the way they giggled and said car

sick

I miss the ocean waves crashing as I wait for them

That beautiful sunny day and shuffles of feet passing by

I miss the floating green vegetation tipping at our toes.

Water cold, rocks gleaming in the setting sun

I miss the way it smelled in a town that wasn’t theirs

But they claimed it as

I miss my friend

Their life churns on and so does mine

Thoughts prevail of what’s for dinner and how has the time

Their mind never glances back to our day

Yet they are so close and I am far away

sad poetrynature poetryinspirational
Like

About the Creator

Ruth Ann

A Jersey girl just looking to tell some stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Ruth Ann is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.