Poets logo

Ocean-eyed-demon

I do not love you anymore

By SannaPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
Ocean-eyed-demon
Photo by Christoffer Engström on Unsplash

I do not love you anymore, I think I never loved you at all

I just created my own version of you and let myself fall

Maybe it was my delusions, maybe it was all your lies,

Maybe my commonsense drowned in the ocean of your eyes,

Now I realise the person I longed for, was never really there

And the man that is, men like him are not all that rare

Now I see a selfish man, who added nothing constructive,

I see a stubborn egomaniac, who is so self-destructive

I see the reality of what's been, the promises you never kept,

All the subtle putdowns, and the frequent disrespect,

All the damage you caused, the behaviour I would excuse

I see the real person behind the man I was so scared to lose,

I don't see a blue-eyed angel, I don't see a gift from above,

I'm not sure what I feel for you, but it sure as hell isn't love,

Maybe I just feel grief, from mourning all the time I lost,

Or maybe I just miss myself, and the person that I was,

heartbreaklove poemssad poetry
2

About the Creator

Sanna

I write, I drink coffee, I go on adventures and then write some more.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.