Poets logo

Ocean Blue

How Big, How Blue

By Makayla RichardsPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Ocean Blue
Photo by Gatis Marcinkevics on Unsplash

Looking out into the ocean, I feel a calm settle within my body

The salty air blows by my face bringing me back from my daydreams

As I stare at the waves crashing into the shore scattered with charcoal and brick colored rocks, I sit and ponder the sheer magnitude of the ocean that gives us so much life

The animals, creatures, and beings, both seen and unseen

The treasures left to be found and the dark secrets the ocean keeps

And most of all, I ponder it’s beauty

The ocean water is a clear aquamarine and even from the dock from which I am viewing, I notice the gritty and ashen sand holding seashells and sand dollars

I close my eyes and listen to the cry of the seagulls overheard and the sound of the people around me chatting among themselves

Suddenly I feel the urge to go to the ocean

To wash away my stress and troubles and immerse myself into the clean blue waters

I walk down the dock to the set of creaky wooden stairs and begin my descent down to the shore

As I get closer and closer, the call of the blue waters becomes all too much and I take off into a run as I bolt into the water

Immediately I feel the chill of the water surrounding me and I feel my body relax

All of the troubles of today, the unknown future, and the past regrets soak off of my tired body and I feel renewed

I gave my life to the ocean and in turn it revived me and made me feel anew

I kick my feet up and let the salted water lift me off the ground as I release all of the tension in each and every muscle

How amazing it feels, how refreshed I feel. Washed free and given a clean slate to write my story on

I feel the water brushing up against my cheeks and floating my body atop the water

This was everything I needed and more.

To feel free.

To feel the calm serenity of the ocean.

Feeling like a small part of the world’s puzzle; a mere morsel floating within the water, just a speck of dust

To be in the ocean blue.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Makayla Richards

22 year old aspiring writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.