Poets logo

o ephraim.

the story of hosea, written 12/11/2020

By cosette alizePublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
o ephraim.
Photo by Aleksey Boev on Unsplash

My son, O Israel, I loved you (11:1)

Out of Egypt, my child, you were called

Yet the more I called the further you ran

Saying "We do not have a king." (10:3)

O Ephraim, I taught you to walk (11:3)

I was there when you fell to take you by the arms

And though you still walked unaware

I led you with kindness and bands of love (11:4)

Healing though you did not know (11:3)

Prosperity I withheld not

But you claimed it your own and declared yourself rich (12:8)

So by my own breath I have stripped (13:15)

All the works of your hands so you may not forget (13:6)

That besides me, child you have no king (13:4)

My child, return to me! (6:1)

I have torn you to heal and struck you to bind!

You have eaten the fruit of a lie (10:13)

Now sow yourself righteousness (10:12), the proper sacrifice (6:6)

For you are my beautiful bride (2:16)

O Ephraim, what have I to do with idols? (14:8)

It is I who answer and look after you

I am like the evergreen cypress from me comes your fruit

For I am the Lord your God (12:9)

inspirational
1

About the Creator

cosette alize

I write stories, because I live a story. No fantasy world will ever compare to the one we live in. I want to describe our world in a way that reveals the Creator's magic, and write fantasy world's in a way that illuminates our reality.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Emily Dickersonabout a year ago

    Fantastic!!! Loviest of works!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.