Poets logo

O Cathy!

Full Rebuttal Type Poem to Cathy Holmes' Delightful entry to my latest challenge!

By Paul StewartPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
16
O Cathy!
Photo by chris robert on Unsplash

Preamble: The delightfully savage and clever took it upon herself to enter my challenge, and took some little shots at me in the process. So here is my full rebuttal. short and not so sweet?

*

Ol' Cathy, our Canadian buddy, a national legend

Trudeux's lover under his command?

*

With glaring eyes, we see thee rise

Top Story again, sublime and fiercely funny

*

From Boundary Peak 187 to Cape Spear

Ol' Cathy, they speak of your majesty

*

Keep Princess Abigail well-fed and content

Ol' Cathy, for we know you owe it to her

*

Ol' Cathy, for we know you owe it to her

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I'm sure we can all agree, Cathy is a necessary part of the Vocal community, but I felt I had to snipe back a little and using the national anthem and Princess Abigail felt like a great way to do it.

You can see the awesome original post by Cathy here:

and find out about my latest challenge here:

You can also, you know, find out about my new book here(yep, shameless plug):

The rest of my work can be found here.

vintagesocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalhumorfact or fiction
16

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Stephen A. Roddewig5 months ago

    This is the kind of Vocal beef we need more of around here

  • Donna Fox (HKB)5 months ago

    Paul... I have so much appreciation for not only you taking it like a Champ but also for you going full hog back at her!! I love this "feud" that started between the two sassiest people on Vocal!! This was so much fun!!

  • Hahahhahahahahahaha I'm so happy that you added Princess Abigail! Not completely unrelated but I hope you remember that I am Princess Dhar-Sheena and Professor Red. My hybrid name is Princess Professor Red. Kbyeeee 🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • JBaz5 months ago

    I see you found the secret song of Canada. well done

  • I anxiously awaited your response & you did not disappoint, Paul. Carla Tortelli Lebec ("Cheers") would be so thrilled with your tribute to "O Canada".

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Bahahaha. Fucking eh! (You know I sang that, right?)

  • Test5 months ago

    Hilarious...been waiting for the rebuttal since yesterday! I agree a very neccesary part. Still waiting for her to compile 'Abi-Tales' though...definitely owes it to her!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.