Poets logo

Numb

The Day My Heart Stopped Beating

By Sarah JanePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Numb
Photo by Tanya Pro on Unsplash

Numb

from the prescriptions

Numb

from the snow

_

I can’t feel my fingers

Where’s the earth

between my toes?

_

I watched as the snow fell

inside my home

_

The coldest day of the year

fell upon the mountain

_

February

A curious month

Gate of the Aquarians

Womb of the Scorpions

The month of love

_

Numb

She forced me into the snow

I wandered door to door

in my black boots

in my pink puffy coat

_

I wandered looking

for something I hadn’t known

I had lost

Something I forgot

when my heart went numb

_

There she was

the woman with the birthday

2 days after mine

She held me in her presence

as the floodgates pried

_

Bursting open

the river of tears

I held back for years

_

Now even the numbness

cannot stop the flooding pain

I’ve hidden behind my smile

locked within my fears

_

Everything went black

I don’t remember much

_

Only snapshots of the day

before my heart flatlined

Numb from this reality

I can’t even say I remember that

_

The day of the living numb-y

The night of the dead

Transformed into the

day I spent in a coma

all day in a hospital bed

_

Awoken by the beeping

of my heart on the monitor

_

I was alive

I could feel

tubes shoved in my body

_

“What happened?”

I asked the strange woman

by my feet

Alarmed she exclaimed,

“My god, you’re awake!’

_

“Your body went numb

from the drugs.”

“Your heart stopped beating.”

“You were comatosed.”

“We weren’t sure when you

would wake up.”

_

“What day is it?”

“February 14th, 2009”

_

I could feel my heart beating

on the day of love

The day I was conceived

I reclaimed my life

I could feel once again

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Sarah Jane

Writing has been Sarah's passion since she was 7 years-old when she began writing poetry and short stories. Now, she's sharing her gift with the world. Subscribe, and come take a whirl in her words.

Tips are appreciated!

IG: @sarahjane.speaks

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sarah JaneWritten by Sarah Jane

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.