Poets logo

Numb Ernine Teen

Poem 19 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 3 min read
1

It is now another night

Where the chance to make

Something of myself

Is present-

{

{

By most mornings I’ll

Have to start picking

Up pieces.

{

Go back in time and

Place a broken timeline

Back in order.

Well,

At least try to.

{

-My submission has finally

Reached you.

{

I doubt you enjoyed the last

Poem you read-

{

-To Accept

Or

Decline-

{

I tried to write this piece

Titled “#19”

After a few straight shots

And many many thoughts.

{

I hit this Rum right from

The bottle now.

I strike up the words to

Write as if I know how

{

Now I’m cutting up that

Poem and it almost

Resembles the way Billy

Burroughs did it.

Only this is different.

{

These are my fragments

{

-My influences also helped me

Choose this method of

Relaying personal messages.

Then again it was all

They knew and it was all

They had to demonstrate

Their skill.-

{

Visions strobe

In

And

Out

{

Like lights at a rave

{

High on drugs, music

Or yourself.

{

-Here and now in front of

The keyboard on a manual

Typewriter.-

{

-It is what it is.-

{

I think of Sylvia Plath

And how she got me to

Stick with life while

At the same time inspiring

Me to get into this game

Of literature.

{

I think of Hunter Thompson

Who learned from Fitzgerald -

{

Stuck to himself and

Became an original.

{

I think of Anne Sexton

And her confessional genre.

{

I’ll try to fit the word

“Controversial” into this

Because it rhymes and

It is true but it only

Makes sense once this stanza

Is completed.

{

-If you’re truly reading

You will see I’m not

Being a bullshitter.”

{

Literature.

{

-I use a typewriter because

I feel it is more real than

A laptop.

I can grab the paper,

Reel it in,

Get to work,

And lose the document

By my own poor choice of

Hand.-

{

I think of Bukowski.

I believe many people think

Of Bukowski

Only they take him wrong.

That sensitive drunk decaying

Like an onion layer by layer.

I remember how his words

Captured parts of my mind

Before I had ever read him.

{

-I am a writer-

{

-My typewriter is real.

SUBMITTABLE is the only way I

Can reach you.-

{

-We’re in a different time.

The SUBMITTABLE app is now

Here to make it easier for

Magazines to make decisions

Based off what they see

Digitally.-

{

Back in the day it was paper

Dispatched by snail-mail.

{

So we’ll see what happens and

Who you trust in-

{

It’s 3:17 in the morning.

I’m going to rest to wake up

For work in the afternoon.

{

I’ll have four more works for you

To read

{

And end

This chapbook

{

Soon or later enough.

;)

}

Filter to I Filled Up the Page (Literally)

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.