Poets logo

I've Filled Up the Page (Literally)

Poem 20 from my chapbook "As Glamorous as a Kidney"

By Michael ButorovichPublished about a month ago 1 min read
2

The dream is flying out to Florida

At any time and hitting Miami.

Rolling up to a club with a ball

Of cash.

Drinks, drinks, drinks,

Music, music, music,

Women, women, women;

Then back to the hotel.

{

The dream is going anywhere at

Anytime because I’d like to see.

I’ll find whatever it brings

Along the way.

{

The dream is a nice home with a

Billiard table in it. As well as

A room to work in.

{

The dream….

{

Dreams….

{

It’s all in your head and how

Long you can stay motivated.

{

It’s all about effort and how

Many times you can fall down

To get back up.

{

It’s all about meaning it.

Fighting discouragement.

Re-discovering the road towards

Your desire.

{

The dream….

{

I have too many.

Their all great self-sustaining

Ideas while occupying my

Current job and obligations.

Except their empty until I put

In work towards them.

{

Florida is too expensive.

Anywhere at any time boils

Down to plans.

A home of my own is far

From here.

{

The dreams I envision while

Awake take me further than

This garage.

{

The work I am doing is

An extremely dirty job.

{

Literature.

Literally.

}

Filter to I Filled in the Last Corner

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Michael Butorovich

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Didn't see the last part coming but true - nicely done.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.