Poets logo

Nuclear Lovers

Poem

By LJ ChaplinPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

When the bomb starts to fall,

Plummeting towards the Earth

Remember what you whispered

In my ear the night before.

As it explodes and the air

We breathe is shattered and

Propelled into chaos,

Amongst the shards of metal

And grains of sand

I realise how much I need

To feel the radioactive glow

Beneath my skin and the

Total meltdown of a kiss

Underneath the mushroom cloud,

The vast expanse of arms

That part the sky and hurtles

The clouds into

Oblivion,

The corrosive burn

of waste that

Numbs my feet

And threatens to destroy me

But instead leaves me feeling weightless,

As if I have been catapulted by the shock waves

With nothing to hold on to.

There is a fusion in my veins,

It glows and grows until finally

I become strong like uranium.

Then bury my heart beneath concrete

And power the World,

Feel the rush and destruction

Of nuclear lovers

love poemssurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

LJ Chaplin

26, poet/writer, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.