Poets logo

Now You See Her, Now She's Gone

For the Gypsy Souls

By KaleighPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I learned the hard way I could never slow down

An obsession for freedom is all I know now

The urge to run is one I’ve never been able to hide

I’ve looked the devil in the eyes, and a cage is his bride

One foot on traveled ground and one on the foreign road

Away from this town, away is where I will go

My peace is not tangible

You can’t touch the ache

Caught up in a dust bowl

If I stop now I’ll break

My bones tire but my blood is still red

As long as I am alive

My freedom is my breath

Lost, lost, but not wanting to be found

Both feet running when they hit the ground

Gone, gone, but not wanting to be here

Both feet tied is the only real fear

Looks naïve but knows the world

Held the demons, held the gold

Belongs to no one and craves it all

Now you see her, now she’s gone.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Kaleigh

Just trying to figure out what I'm doing and letting you know what actually works sometimes...and what doesn't!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.