Poets logo

Notion of Nostalgia

Oh, how things were simple

By KuroHoshiPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Notion of Nostalgia
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Shadows and colorful pencils were my best friends before anything

Even though I was afraid of the dark and how I drew

Broken glass and breathless ash are all I see

But what I remembered was something better

It was love, warmth, and tunes from a radio

It's stupid to bond with things that learned rust and dust

However, they are more valuable than any dollar I ever held

They taught me how it was good enough, and everything was ok

Then, as years pass by, I surrendered to static and bold black pens

Shaken and nearly naked with a suffocating suit and tie, I didn't know

who I was

All I knew were numbers, what's on sale, and how to promo another item

grams of greens and ounces of alcohol were in my air

Because time ran out, another tire breaks and now I'm holding more bones

But I can't never think, rather I forget how feelings work

I'm taking cogs out of a clock just to know this is all real still

Feeling them pinch me, the pain has to be there

For I've been emptying everything into dreams and someone's ambitions

A single blood drop hits a small dry chalk piece

Seeing my skin as crumbling paper,

my nails as metal holding onto my shape and forms

A spark, soaring, fighting against the odds

The crows crying and the rats cheering

My soul begging for release

For I want life, not just a dream

Even if..

performance poetry

About the Creator

KuroHoshi

A Poet, An Artist, and the person who tries to become a living star

I write the about the creatures from underneath my mind

Some are happy, others are truthful, but I'll let you decide what's their fate

Profile Pic made by milkymisul

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    KuroHoshiWritten by KuroHoshi

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.