Poets logo

Nothing Else

poem

By Em HoccanePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Nothing Else
Photo by Laura Skinner on Unsplash

Title: Nothing else

I want to go far away

and nothing else

encounter strangers and myriad trees

and nothing else

Stop to smell a flower

dip my head in the passing creek

stare at the strange fruit

pop it skeptically into my mouth

and be delighted

and nothing else

as I look ahead, I see the endless road

like life that seems to just last

till it ends

like that endless road

till it bends

and beyond, there's nothing else

I want to be that stranger

who sees nothing on the road

cos there is nowhere to get to

no signs and nothing else

There yonder is a bird in blue

The night is dark

there are stars too

the crickets buzz constantly

it's just me and the sounds

and nothing else

Serene sights

slight of the skin

my soul is turned out from within

in that moment i have everything

and i want nothing else

The moment passes so do i

I was nature now im just I

I look at my feet

I have no shoes

I got no shirt

my pants hang loose

where was I

where am I going

is this all I have

and nothing else?

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Em Hoccane

Creative writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.