Poets logo

Notes From the Bridge #3A

11/17/18-11/21/18

By Natalie WilkinsonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Somewhere in Queens

I got a call from my parents' phone at 8:31 PM,

It was a nurse.

Can you come right away?

I called my sisters first.

Driving, one light ahead of me on the road,

It was 1:30 in the morning by the time I got there.

On the way,

I thought about the three sisters,

I'm the oldest, so I guess that makes me Atropos, the Inflexible.

People tell me to be more flexible.

I was cutting some yarns just before.

Then, it would follow,

The middle sister would be Lachesis, the Allotter of Life.

What kind of thread did she dispense in this case?

Was it brightly colored, dull and scratchy, woolen, smooth, shiny and slippery as it came off the wheel? She doesn't have much

choice in the matter, she just guides it.

And the youngest would be Clotho, the Spinner.

The decision maker until the very end. Did the thickness run true? How smooth was the thread, how satisfied was she with the quality of her labor?

The next day, they said the thread was cut at 8:36 PM,

but my mother thought 8:32 maybe.

Since I cut thread a lot, I'm sure she was reacting to something: a weak spot, the wrong color, a strand with something amiss.

All the thread there in a pile, some knotted, some salvageable, some handed down to be reused.

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Natalie Wilkinson

Writing. Woven and Printed Textile Design. Architectural Drafting. Learning Japanese. Gardening. Not necessarily in that order.

IG: @maisonette _textiles

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.