Poets logo

Not Your Type

not your kind of hype

By Sarah LoydPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
11
Art by Elisabeth Loyd ( my sister)

If life's a game

Then I'm the underdog

No one expects me to be on the prowl

If life's a parade

Won't be the beauty queen

You will never see me in a crown

Fire, fire, fire away

Pull the right plug and I explode

Fire, fire, fire away

Ready or not, it's time to go

I don't care if I am

Not your type

Not your favorite

Kind of hype

Acting

And pretending

Is such a wasted sin

The more I love myself

The more I win

If life is a stage

I'd shoot the spotlight down

Don't need the attention on me

If life's an ocean

I'm the crashing waves

I don't need your garbage in my sea

Fire, fire, fire away

Pull the right plug, and I explode

Fire, fire, fire away

Ready or not, it's time to go

I don't care if I am

Not your type

Not your favorite

Kind of hype

Acting

And pretending

Such a wasted sin

The more I love myself

The more I win

I'm an introvert

With a giant fuse

A double-edged sword

With nothing to lose

Fire, fire, fire away

Fire, fire, fire away

Fire, fire, fire away

Light the match

And watch me go

Thank you for reading my poem. Show your support by tipping, commenting, and other fun stuff like that. You can follow me on Twitter (@musicl0v3) and various Vocal Facebook groups.

If you love this poem, then read these:

inspirational
11

About the Creator

Sarah Loyd

I love movies, music, TV, and all things entertaining. I also love to write poetry. Follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on Mix https://mix.com/sarahloyd You can also find me on Pinterest @sloydmarie

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsden2 years ago

    Love this. Being able to find the beauty in yourself is harder than it should be. You nailed the emotions here

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done.

  • KJ Aartila2 years ago

    This his brilliant! 💎

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    I loved the rhythm in this! I agree that it would make a great song. Great work :)

  • Joe Patterson2 years ago

    This definitely makes for a great song. Read it like one in my head.

  • I love the raw truths you tap into with this poem.

  • Really lovely poem.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.