Poets logo

Not Worth It

Photo Location: Central Park, NYC

By cristian lucaPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo location: central park, nyc

Someone once told me the attention of a faceless coward is not worth dying for.

Even though everywhere I look, billboards and commercials tell me it is.

Others have bodies chiseled as if rapids carved them.

Others have hair that skips through breeze as if oxygen tickles their scalp.

Something I am not meant to own and I became jealous of the conventional.

I find the perfect mirror that shifts my nose to everyone’s liking.

Stretch my skin back pre-sling shot.

Inflated my ass and rocketed the size of my penis.

Beauty is something that I always want to see.

Mirrors do not lie; they show me more than what is just on the outside.

The mirror reminds me that "perfect" is something I will never be.

May I remind you that mirrors are also hypocrites?

They say you need to be exact, a replica, never a knock-off.

So then, I decide to punch my mirror in and shards of glass bust my hand.

My face no longer belongs to my body so then I change my ways.

I obsess over the fact that I will never be what everyone else wants to achieve.

Runaway, faster than creatures that lay closer to the ground.

Find the top of a mountain; take a seat at the cliff.

Let the space between myself and the bottom of the mountain whisper.

It is worth dying for.

I am trapped.

The grip of a stranger holds me in place.

I scream as tears start to waterfall past my cheeks.

The stranger incarcerates the liquid in a vile, locks it, and places it in my lap.

I will capture every tear in a jar to remind you that the vines that constrain you are not worth dying over.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

cristian luca

cristian luca is a poet, photographer, and activist with a bachelors degree in women and gender studies. he is extremely passionate about social change and art.

instagram: @cristianlucapoetry_

www.cristianluca.wix.com/cristianluca

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.