Poets logo

Not Overblown Amateur Dramatics

Poem. Love letter. Tribute.

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 1 min read

Your love is my lighter fluid

The firecracker

The spark

That ignites and energises me

That gives my lifeforce what it needs

When I want to give up

That's what I want to tell you

That's what I want to say

Instead

I say "I Love You"

We don't need overblown amateur dramatics

*

Your face is my morning dopamine hit

With everyday that passes

There are more ways I find

It makes me smile, it makes me want you

It makes me happy

There are more ways I find

To feel fortunate we are still we

That's what I want you to know

That's what I need you to know

Instead

I say "I Adore You" or "You're Pretty"

We don't need overblown amateur dramatics*

*

Your support and loyalty

Keeps me sane, keeps me fighting

The demons, my demons, my vices, my weaknesses

I lose battles, but never the war

Even when we fight

When you are wrong or right

I want to stick by you, fight for you

Be better for you

That's what I always think about

That's what I always hope you realise

Instead

I say "Thank You"

We don't need overblown amateur dramatics

*

You complete me

Despite the times I've pushed you away

Looked elsewhere and hurt you

It's you I can't live without

You I see when I close my eyes

When I think of the future

Through the ups and downs

Through the hurt and sorry, joy and laughter

There is no-one I love adore and have more thanks to give

There is no-one I want to fight for, when we are wrong or right

It's not amateur dramatics or overblown to say

There is no-one I want to spend the rest of my life with

Creating special memories with, while working through and undoing past pain

"You are my everything"

*

Thanks For Reading!

Author's Notes: I just wanted to right some nice things with a nice structure.

You can also check out these other recently published pieces:

You can also take a look at the rest of my work here.

vintagesocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    ♥️ ☺️👏

  • ThatWriterWoman8 months ago

    This is the kind of thing that screams TRUE ROMANCE! I love the normalcy! Outstanding work Paul!

  • Without being overly dramatic, let me simply say..., ...that's beautiful.

  • Ahhhh! This was so SO SWEET! Such a lovely and wonderful poem! 🍩🥐

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Lovingly written!!! Absolutely love this Paul!!!♥️♥️

  • Excellent Piece💯♥️😉📝You Definitely wrote something nice❗

  • Test8 months ago

    Loved this. So heartfelt and open. And this line made me smile a little, "We don't need overblown amateur dramatics" Second time I've said it tonight but so very British!

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    That is a piece of beauty. Well done.

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    What a beautiful love poem!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    A beautiful poem - no overblown amateur dramatics - but all the feeling.

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.