Poets logo

Not Like You

And I Never Will Be

By Angel AdagioPublished 27 days ago Updated 27 days ago 1 min read
Not Like You
Photo by Максим Степаненко on Unsplash

You made yourself the hero and the villain.

You tried saving me from my fate, but causing harm in the process.

That harm has only grown along with me,

the scars still haunting me through every mirror.

Your memory still haunting me every time I close my eyes,

I still hear your voice with your empty promises.

Did those words ever mean anything to you?

Did I?

I thought I would learn by now that patterns exist and nothing can shift the shapes,

but I always want to look past the shadows and find the truth.

It hurt me in the end of this chapter, and you're no longer in my story.

Just never got to tell you that I am letting you go,

slowly,

painlessly,

in a way you couldn't do for me.

That's how I know you didn't change me,

my soul is still mine,

and I am nothing like you.

sad poetryheartbreak

About the Creator

Angel Adagio

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Brenda Fluharty27 days ago

    Wonderfully, deep. If, only everyone could learn how to let go of those who have hurt them.

Angel AdagioWritten by Angel Adagio

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.