Poets logo

Not Broken

This is just the Beginning...

By Latoya Giles Published about a year ago 1 min read
Like

She bends, but will not break. She is flexible and good at what she does, make no mistake.

Two children carried and birthed all naturally. No surgery. No drugs. Dad walked away without looking back, he left us.

I should say "they", because there are two dads, not just one. A daughter from each man. "One and done!"

The oldest is 17, the little one is almost 8. My babies are 10 years apart. I'd do anything for them, Like Jay-Z said "...that's my heart."

I lost my job first. The car and house followed not long after, I tried... I had lost everything. I just couldn't be strong anymore, I cried...

Getting my car back outta repo took every penny and dime. Was late on the rent and had court notices beach time.

I was unaware that 3 court filings meant they could put us out. It was about 12 days before Christmas when I was told. January 11, 2023 was the day "GET OUT!"

Distraught, where would we go? Where would we live? I figured my car. I called my mom to tell her, but I broke down. I cried so hard I couldn't breathe. My dad was listening in the background.

He spoke up and told me not to worry. Don't fret! He and my mom aren't dead yet.

As long as they are alive, I have a place to live. Being homeless is never an option. So, "stop crying", he said. "You're wasting your breath and energy. Wipe your face." Instantly I felt the embrace of family.

My story doesn't end here. Just a new chapter I'll say. As long as I can breathe, I will always find a way....

TO BE CONTINUED...

sad poetryperformance poetryinspirationalhow toheartbreakfact or fictionexcerptsart
Like

About the Creator

Latoya Giles

I'm just a single mom tryna make it. Come with me on my journey through life in writing... "A dream deferred is not a dream denied"

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.